Homemade Gluten-free Noodles

gluten-free homemade noodlesOnce upon a time, I was a little blonde girl who skipped around under a brilliant blue sky most days of the year.  You see, I am not native to this Land of Fog Delays and wet, rainy springs (summers, winters, and falls).  Yes, right smack in the middle of my awkward teenage years, our family transported to Indiana.  My father, the Tall Man, promised his young daughter that I would have a cow (didn’t happen), but I did get introduced to some pretty awesome farm-food in the years to come.  Where else but in the midwest would people eat noodles on mashed potatoes (double the carbs!) and feel no shame?  The truth is that it is delicious.

We are getting ambitious today, because I’m making homemade gluten-free chicken and noodles over mashed potatoes.  And IT WILL BE FABULOUS!

Homemade Gluten-Free Chicken & Noodles

  • 1/3 cup cornstarch
  • 1/3 cup sweet rice flour
  • 2 Tablespoons millet flour
  • 3/4 teaspoon salt
  • 1 Tablespoon xanthan gum
  • 2 eggs
  • 1 Tablespoon olive oil
  • 4 cups (or two cans) chicken broth
  • 4 cups water
  • shredded roasted chicken (2 cups give or take)
  • 1/2 teaspoon ground black pepper
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 1 1/2 teaspoon parsley

The first time that I made homemade noodles, I pulled the recipe from the classic gluten-free cookbook, “The Gluten-Free Gourmet” by Bette Hagman.  This recipe is very similar to her homemade pasta recipe with some slight variations.  Most notably, I use different flours and I honestly think that you could make this recipe with pretty much any gluten-free flour as long as one of them was a starch (ie: tapioca, corn, potato).  That is my untested theory, but I only used the flours that I chose because I had them on hand, and it turned out perfectly.

Combine all dry ingredients in a mixing bowl.  Beat eggs and oil together and pour over mixture and stir.  It should eventually form a ball. 

wheat-free noodle dough

Once it does, flour the counter, slap it on, and roll it out with a rolling pin.  This is a very pliable dough so you shouldn’t have problems with it sticking to the counter or rolling pin.

wheat-free pasta

At this point, I pull out my pasta machine.  I bought this at a department store on clearance for nine dollars.  If you aren’t so lucky, that’s fine.  You can just carefully cut the dough into long strips. 

pasta machine

I pull the strips apart individually and lay them on wax paper. 

boiling gluten-free pasta

In the meantime, bowl the broth and water.  Once it is boiling, I drop the noodles in (one by one).  They only need to boil for about 20 minutes, but I’ve never had them get mushy if they get boiled longer.

gluten-free chicken and noodles

Once the noodles are in, add the shredded chicken, salt, pepper, and parsley.  I serve it all on top of mashed potatoes.  This is how us country folk eat it.

5 responses to “Homemade Gluten-free Noodles

  1. OMG!! That looks amazing!!! You make ‘making your homemade noodles’ seem as easy as slicing butter. Xlnt job!

  2. I grew up in Southwest Ohio…close to Indiana and both of my Grandmother’s (who were from Indiana) made noodles like this (but with Gluten). I was diagnosed with Celiac Disease and have been yearning for my Grandmothers’ noodles. I’m anxious to try this recipe for my family this Thanksgiving. Any chance I can make this without xanthum gum? Gums bother me.

    • Can you use guar gum? That might be a good substitute if you can. Regardless, I’d probably try it and see what happens. You may want to add add more “liquids” to make sure that the dough is sticking together (binding) and not drying out. Once it dries out, it won’t work well for you. I’ve found that in a lot of cookies, cakes, etc. you actually don’t need the xanthan gum at all. In fact, I have forgotten to put it in a number of times and couldn’t tell the difference at all. It’s always an experiment! Let me know how it goes.

    • How did this receipe work for you?

  3. Patty… can you not have guar gum or xanthan gum? If you can, I would use the recipe as is. I make it often in the fall and winter months, and it works great.

Leave a Reply

